Electronic Flora of South Australia
Electronic Flora of South Australia
Census of SA Plants, Algae & Fungi
Identification tools

Declared or noxious species of Solanaceae in Australia

The quickest way to check the noxious or declared Solanaceaeous plants in Australia is through the Noxious weeds list on the Weeds Australia site. Information on the management of some of these species can be found through the now defunct Weeds CRC site, which although not updated since 2008 remains accessible through the archived pages in Pandora, Australia’s web archive.

There are no Solanaceae species presently included on the Weeds of National Significance (WoNS) or the National Environmental Alert list.

New South Wales

Declared noxious weeds for New South Wales are listed on the New South Wales Government Agriculture site as

Cestrum parqui

Lycium ferocissimum,

Physalis virginiana

Physalis viscosa

Solanum rostratum

Solanum elaeagnifolium.

Northern Territory

The declared weeds of the Northern Territory can be found on the Weeds site of the Department of Natural Resources, Environment, the Arts and Sport

Datura spp. - Thornapples

Datura ferox  - Longspine thornapple

Lycium ferocissimum - African boxthorn


Information on Declared plants in Queensland can be found on the Queensland Government’s Primary Industries site.  

African boxthorn (Lycium ferocissimum) is listed as a Class 2 weed

Not declared but to be controlled

Green cestrum (Cestrum parqui)

Wild tobacco (Solanum mauritianum).

South Australia

The list of Declared plants for South Australia can be downloaded from the Biosecurity pages of the South Australian government.

There are presently only two Solanaceae plants on this list, Lycium ferocissimum (African boxthorn) and Solanum elaeagnifolium (Silverleaf nightshade).


The declared species list for Tasmania can be downloaded from the Department of Primary Industries and Water site.

Datura spp.

Salpichroa origanifolia

Solanum elaeagnifolium

Solanum sodomaeum

Solanum marginatum

Solanum triflorum


The Department of Sustainability and Environment list of Pest Plants for Victoria can be downloaded as a pdf from here Further information about the species in Victoria can be found through the hyperlinked common name.

Apple of Sodom (Nox) - Solanum linnaeanum

Pampas Lily-of-the-Valley (Nox) - Salpichroa origanifolia

Chilean (Green) Cestrum (Nox) - Cestrum parqui

Silverleaf Nightshade (Nox) - Solanum eleagnifolium

Thorn Apples Datura spp (Common, Downy, Recurved) (Nox) - Datura spp.

African Boxthorn (Nox) - Lycium ferocissimum

Solanum rostratum - Buffalo burr

Western Australia

The Department of Agriculture and Food database of Declared species for Western Australia search page can be found through the heading Weeds on the home page or the searchable list

Apple of Sodom (Solanum linnaeanum);

Common thornapple (Datura stramonium),

Fierce thornapple (Datura ferox),

Leichhardt’s or Mexican thornapple (Datura leichhardtii),

Hairy thornapple (Datura wrightii),

Downy thornapple (Datura innoxia)

Thornapple (Datura metel)

Disclaimer Copyright Disclaimer Copyright Email Contact:
State Herbarium of South Australia
Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Department for Environment and Water