Electronic Flora of South Australia
Electronic Flora of South Australia
Census of SA Plants, Algae & Fungi
Identification tools

Electronic Flora of South Australia species Fact Sheet

Family: Tremandraceae
Tetratheca halmaturina

Citation: J. Black, Trans. R.Soc. S. Aust. 48:256 (1924).

Synonymy: T. ericifolia Smith var. aphylla Tare, Trans. R.Soc. S.Aust. 12:62 (1889).

Common name: Curly pink-bells.

Compact almost leafless shrub to 50 cm high but usually c. 20 cm, usually branching above and close to the rootstock, branches first spreading then erect; stems stout, with many small tubercules and occasional larger ones, branching alternate and acute; leaves alternate, mostly reduced to narrow deltoid green scales usually with the lamina withered leaving the short broad base of the petiole.

Flowers single or 2 together in scale-leaf axils on the upper branches; peduncles 5-8 rarely c. 10 mm long; sepals 5; petals usually 5, dark-pink, rarely white, usually narrowly obovate, 8-13 mm long and usually less than half as wide; stamens usually 10, body of the anther glabrous or with minute protuberances, tapering to a tube with a narrow orifice; ovary glabrous or with scattered glandular-tipped hairs and occasionally minute straight hairs; style stout, usually glabrous, 2-2.5 mm long; ovules 1 in each cell, attached to a broad or projecting part of the axis.

Capsule narrowly obovate, 6-8 mm long and 2.5-4 mm wide, usually shortly beaked; seeds cylindrical, slightly curved, 3.5-4 mm long, brown.

image of FSA2_Tetratheca_hal.jpg Tetratheca halmaturina
Image source: fig 416b in Jessop J.P. & Toelken H.R. (Ed.) 1986. Flora of South Australia (4th edn).

Distribution:  S.Aust.: KI.

Conservation status: native

Flowering time: July — Dec.

SA Distribution Map based
on current data relating to
specimens held in the
State Herbarium of South Australia

Biology: No text

Author: Not yet available

Disclaimer Copyright Disclaimer Copyright Email Contact:
State Herbarium of South Australia
Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Department for Environment and Water