Electronic Flora of South Australia
Electronic Flora of South Australia
Census of SA Plants, Algae & Fungi
Identification tools

Electronic Flora of South Australia species Fact Sheet

Family: Compositae
Senecio minimus

Citation: Poiret, Encycl. Suppl. 5:130 (1817).

Synonymy: Erechtites minima (Poiret) DC., Prod. 6:437 (1838); S. prenanthoides A.Rich., Voy. l'Astrolabe 2:96 (1834); E. prenanthoides (A.Rich.)DC. Prod. 6:296 (1838); Benth., Fl. Aust. 3:658 (1867), excl. var. picridioides (Turcz.) Benth.; non S. minimus sensu E. Robertson in J. Black, Fl. S. Aust. 888, fig. 1190 (1965), which is S. biserratus.

Common name: Shrubbyfireweed.

Erect annual herb, 50-100 cm high; stems stout, striate, unbranched below the inflorescence or branched basally, usually glabrous; leaves lanceolate, 6-9 x 1-2 cm sometimes to 15 x 4 cm, evenly denticulate, sessile, auriculate, glabrous or sparsely cobwebby below, glabrous above, youngest sometimes densely minutely haired.

Capitula 100-400 in a terminal corymbose panicle, dense at first, rather lax at maturity; involucre 6-8.5 x 1.5-2 mm, glabrous; bracts 8-10, slender; calyculus of 2 or 3 narrowly triangular bracteoles; female fiorets 10-15, 3- or 4-lobed; disk florets 3-6, 5-lobed.

Achenes subcylindrical, 1.5-2 x 0.4-0.5 mm, red to dark-brown, surface of 7 or 8 concave longitudinal segments separated by the narrow grooves, hairs short, appressed, in rows corresponding to the grooves; pappus deciduous, dimorphic.

Distribution:  Temperate regions with more than 600 mm annual rainfall. In shaded forest understorey. Uncommon in S.Aust.

S.Aust.: SL, KI, SE.   W.Aust.; N.S.W.; Vic.; Tas.   New Zealand, United States (introduced in California and Oregon).

Conservation status: native

Flowering time: Dec. — April.

SA Distribution Map based
on current data relating to
specimens held in the
State Herbarium of South Australia

Biology: No text

Author: Not yet available

Disclaimer Copyright Disclaimer Copyright Email Contact:
State Herbarium of South Australia
Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Department for Environment and Water