Electronic Flora of South Australia
Electronic Flora of South Australia
Census of SA Plants, Algae & Fungi
Identification tools

Electronic Flora of South Australia species Fact Sheet

Family: Compositae
Senecio megaglossus

Citation: F. Muell., Linnaea 25:419 (1853).

Synonymy: Not Applicable

Common name: None

Glaucous perennial shrub 50-80 cm high, much-branched from a large woody caudex; stems very woody, to 1-1.5 cm diam.; branches terminating in the inflorescences, then sometimes rebranching below the inflorescences and reflowering; leaves crowded, somewhat overlapping, obovate to oblong-lanceolate, 4-7 x 1.5-2.5 cm, acute to obtuse, entire or remotely denticulate, basally slightly narrowed, semiclasping, with a tuft of crisped golden hairs in the axil.

Inflorescence sometimes a single terminal capitulum, more commonly with 1-3, occasionally 7-10 additional capitula; peduncles 4-7 cm long, apically dilated and hollow; receptacle flat or conical, pits fringed, fringes frequently prolonged at the intersections into barbs 1-2 mm long or more, sometimes absent; capitula large to 5.5 cm across the rays; involucre broadly campanulate; bracts 16-20, fleshy, 10-13 mm long, not interlocking; calyculus of 1-5 linear bracteoles, 2-10 mm long; ligules usually 8, bright-yellow, 15-25 x 6-8 mm; nerves 14-18, rarely more; disk florets funnel-shaped, c. 60.

Achenes 6-7.5 x 2.5-3 mm, 10-13-ribbed, the ribs broad and rounded, superficially glabrous but with a few short perpendicular hairs on the ribs, yellow-brown; pappus persistent, uniform, of 150 or more shortly barbellate hairs, apical barbs widely divergent.

Distribution:  S.Aust.: FR, EP, NL, MU.

Conservation status: native

Flowering time: Aug. — Nov.

SA Distribution Map based
on current data relating to
specimens held in the
State Herbarium of South Australia

Biology: No text

Author: Not yet available

Disclaimer Copyright Disclaimer Copyright Email Contact:
State Herbarium of South Australia
Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Department for Environment and Water