Electronic Flora of South Australia
Electronic Flora of South Australia
Census of SA Plants, Algae & Fungi
Identification tools

Electronic Flora of South Australia species Fact Sheet

Family: Plantaginaceae
Plantago turrifera

Citation: B. Briggs, et al. Contr. N.S.W. natn. Herb. 4:396 (1973).

Synonymy: Not Applicable

Common name: Small sago weed.

Annual herbs with all leaves in a basal rosette and with a tap root; leaves with an indistinct petiole 0-1.5 cm long, narrowly oblanceolate to oblanceolate-spathulate, 2-5 x 0.4-1 cm, obtuse, entire or with widely spaced obtuse teeth, with 3 rarely 5 main veins, more or less densely covered with short spreading to somewhat appressed hairs.

Spike irregularly cylindrical with flowers often subdistant, 1-3 rarely up to 10 cm long; peduncle 2-5 rarely to 20 cm long, terete, erect with antrorse appressed hairs; bracts ovate, about half the length of the sepals, herbaceous with a membranous margin; sepals oblong-ovate, c. 2 mm long, subequal, sparsely hairy along the herbaceous ridge; corolla tube c. 2 mm long; lobes ovate, 1-2 mm long; anthers broadly oblong; ovary 2-celled with 2 ovules in 1 and 3 in the other.

Capsule pyriform, c. 3 mm long, with a conical to a cylindrical beak truncate and 4-angled at the apex; seeds 5, mainly 1.5-2 mm long, elliptic, finely granular.

image of FSA3_Plantago_tur.jpg Fruit.
Image source: fig. 614I in Jessop J.P. & Toelken H.R. (Ed.) 1986. Flora of South Australia (4th edn).

Distribution:  S.Aust.: NW, LE, FR, EA, EP, MU.   W.Aust.; Qld; N.S.W.; Vic.

Conservation status: native

Flowering time: Aug. — Oct.

SA Distribution Map based
on current data relating to
specimens held in the
State Herbarium of South Australia

Biology: No text

Taxonomic notes: The above description is based on South Australian collections and these tend to be smaller than those from N.S.W.

Author: Not yet available

Disclaimer Copyright Disclaimer Copyright Email Contact:
State Herbarium of South Australia
Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Department for Environment and Water