Electronic Flora of South Australia
Electronic Flora of South Australia
Census of SA Plants, Algae & Fungi
Identification tools

Electronic Flora of South Australia species Fact Sheet

Family: Leguminosae
Lathyrus tingitanus

Citation: L., Sp. Pl. 732 (1753).

Synonymy: Lathyrus latifolius

Common name: Tangier pea.

Glabrous annual; stems herbaceous, 60-120 cm long, winged at least in the upper part; leaves with 1 pair of leaflets, the upper rhachis forming tendrils; leaflets linear-lanceolate to ovate, 20-80 X 3-12 mm, rather parallel-veined, the lateral veins extending more or less to the apex; stipules lanceolate to ovate, semisagittate or hastate, 12-25 X 3-13 mm, as wide as or wider than the stem, distinctly veined.

Flowers 20-30 mm long, on pedicels to 10 mm long; racemes l-3-flowered, peduncles 2-8 cm long; bract narrow-triangular, to 1 mm long; calyx 8-9 mm long, parallel-nerved, teeth subequal, shorter than the tube; petals bright-purple; standard wide-ovate, reflexed at right angles to the shorter wings and obtuse keel.

Pod linear, 60-100 X 8-10 mm, flattened, with a more distinct upper suture, brown, glabrous, 6-8-seeded; seed ovoid, slightly compressed, 7-8 X 5-6 mm, dark-brown, mottled black; hilum one-sixth of the circumference.

image of FSA2_Lathyrus_tin.jpg
Image source: fig. 346B in J.P. Jessop and H.R. Toelken Ed. 1986. Flora of South Australia (4th edn).

Published illustration: Fiori & Paoletti (1899) Iconographia florae Italicae 251, fig. 2127.

Distribution:  S.Aust.: SL, SE.   W.Aust.   Originated in south-eastern Europe, introduced as an ornamental plant, established in different habitats such as grassland or scrub.

Conservation status: naturalised

Flowering time: Nov. — Jan.

SA Distribution Map based
on current data relating to
specimens held in the
State Herbarium of South Australia

Biology: No text

Author: Not yet available

Disclaimer Copyright Disclaimer Copyright Email Contact:
State Herbarium of South Australia
Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Department for Environment and Water