Electronic Flora of South Australia
Electronic Flora of South Australia
Census of SA Plants, Algae & Fungi
Identification tools

Electronic Flora of South Australia species Fact Sheet

Family: Convolvulaceae
Ipomoea indica

Citation: Merr., Inter. Herb. Amboin. 445 (1917).

Synonymy: Convolvulus indicus Burman in Rumphius, Herb. Amboin.auctuar. 7:6 (1755); L congesta R. Br., Prod. Fl. Nov. Holl. 485 (1810); I. acuminata (Vahl)Roemer & Schultes, Syst. Veg. 4:228 (1819); I. learii Paxton, Mag. Bot. 6:267 (1839). , Convolvulus acuminatus, Ipomoea congesta

Common name: Purple morning-glory, blue morning-glory.

Pilose perennial with twining stems; leaves broadly ovate, entire or 3-lobed, 4-17 x 3.5-15 cm, acuminate, acute, base cordate.

Inflorescence axillary, cymose; peduncles 2-18 cm long, bearing 2 to many flowers; bracteoles opposite, herbaceous, narrowly ovate, 10-20 mm long, lower ones often leaf-like; pedicel 5-15 mm long; outer sepals herbaceous, ovate, acuminate, 17-25 x 5-6 mm, pilose; inner sepals similar, slightly smaller with a more cordate base, 15-22 x 4-4.5 mm; corolla funnel-shaped, violet-blue, with a paler mid-petaline band and throat, glabrous or with occasional hairs at the tip of the mid-petaline band, 5.5-7.5 cm long, limb 6.5-8 cm diam.; stamens inserted 9-11 mm above the base of the corolla; filaments very uneven in length, 11-26 mm long; ovary 3-celled, style 28-35 mm long, stigma capitate, 3-lobed.

Capsule not known in Australia.

Published illustration: Cunningham et al. (1982) Plants of western New South Wales, p. 557.

Distribution:  Pantropical and widely cultivated.

S.Aust.: NL, MU, SL.   Qld; N.S.W.; Vic.

Conservation status: naturalised

Flowering time: mainly Sept. — June.

SA Distribution Map based
on current data relating to
specimens held in the
State Herbarium of South Australia

Biology: No text

Author: Not yet available

Disclaimer Copyright Disclaimer Copyright Email Contact:
State Herbarium of South Australia
Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Department for Environment and Water