Electronic Flora of South Australia
Electronic Flora of South Australia
Census of SA Plants, Algae & Fungi
Identification tools

Electronic Flora of South Australia species Fact Sheet

Family: Crassulaceae
Aeonium arboreum

Citation: Webb & Berth., Phyt. Canar. 1:185 (1840).

Synonymy: Sempervivum arboreum L., Sp. Pl. 664 (1753).

Common name: None

Perennial shrubs to 1.2 m high with straight cartilaginous branches, little branched; leaves in a dense rosette at the end of the branches, oblanceolate to oblanceolate-obtriangular, 5-9 X 1.5-3 cm, acute to emarginate and mucronate, with a long cuneate base, little fleshy, dorsiventrally flattened, glossy-green, with the marginal cilia curved towards the apex.

Inflorescence an ovoid thyrse with few to many branches each with 1-3 monochasia, with flowers borne well above the leaves; flowers star-shaped, spreading, 9-11-merous; calyx with 9-11 lanceolate lobes, 2-3.5 mm long, obtuse, rarely acute; petals scarcely fused basally, linear-lanceolate, 6-7 mm long, pointed, spreading, bright-yellow; stamens 18-22, with filaments scarcely fused to the base of the corolla tube; nectary scales square to transversely oblong, slightly fleshy, yellow.

Carpels 9-11, reniform, gradually tapering into slender styles at first erect later somewhat recurved; ovary with many ovules.

image of FSA1_Aeonium_arb.jpg Aeonium arboreum
Image source: fig 225a in Jessop J.P. & Toelken H.R. (Ed.) 1986. Flora of South Australia (4th edn).

Published illustration: Ker Gawler (1816) Edward's Bot. Reg. 2:pl. 99.

Distribution:  S.Aust.: NL, MU, YP, SL, KI, SE.   Native to the Canary islands but now widely naturalised along the coast of the western Mediterranean.

Conservation status: naturalised

Flowering time: Oct. — Nov.

SA Distribution Map based
on current data relating to
specimens held in the
State Herbarium of South Australia

Biology: No text

Author: Not yet available

Disclaimer Copyright Disclaimer Copyright Email Contact:
State Herbarium of South Australia
Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Department for Environment and Water