Electronic Flora of South Australia
Electronic Flora of South Australia
Census of SA Plants, Algae & Fungi
Identification tools

Electronic Flora of South Australia species Fact Sheet

Family: Crassulaceae
Sedum sediforme

Citation: Pau, Act. Mem. Prim. Congr. Nat. Esp. Zaragosa 246 (1909).

Synonymy: -Sempervivum sediforme Jacq., Hort. Bot. Vind. 1:35 (1770); Sedum altissimum Poiret, Encycl. 4:634 (1798); S. nicaeense All., Fl. Ped. 2:122 (1785).

Common name: None

Shrublets with few flexuose and decumbent branches terminating in erect inflorescences to 60 cm high; leaves mainly on younger branches, linear-elliptic, 12-24 mm long, 2-4 mm broad, abruptly constricted at the base and at the apex, pointed to apiculate, almost terete to almost flat above, straight, to slightly curved upwards, a pale blue-green with a more or less dense bloom.

Inflorescence a thyrse with 2-5 dichasia each ending in monochasia, at first almost globular then with distinctly recurved to recoiled apices of part-inflorescences but straightening out when fruiting with leaves gradually becoming shorter on long scapes; flowers star-shaped, usually 6-merous, cream to pale-green; calyx lobes ovoid, obtuse, about a third of the length of the petals; petals scarcely fused basally, 4-7 mm long, c. 2 mm broad, pointed, spreading, greenish-white to brownish, stamens erect, with filaments puberulous where fused to the petals, nectary scale transversely oblong to almost square, fleshy, greenish-white.

Carpels almost obconical, gradually tapering into short erect styles; ovary with many ovules.

Distribution:  S.Aust.: FR, NL, MU, YP, SL.   Native to and widespread in the Mediterranean region.

Conservation status: naturalised

Flowering time: Dec. — Jan.

SA Distribution Map based
on current data relating to
specimens held in the
State Herbarium of South Australia

Biology: No text

Author: Not yet available

Disclaimer Copyright Disclaimer Copyright Email Contact:
State Herbarium of South Australia
Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Department for Environment and Water