Electronic Flora of South Australia
Electronic Flora of South Australia
Census of SA Plants, Algae & Fungi
Identification tools

Electronic Flora of South Australia species Fact Sheet

Family: Oxalidaceae
Oxalis corniculata

Citation: L., Sp. Pl. 435 (1753).

Synonymy: Oxalis corniculata

Common name: Creeping oxalis, yellow wood-sorrel.

Herb with fibrous and branching roots, sometimes a tap root; stems erect or ascending, sometimes creeping, to 30 cm, branching, with spreading hairs; leaves cauline; petioles 3-6 cm, with spreading hairs; stipules small, connate to the petiole-base; leaflets 3, obcordate, 5-20 mm long, 5-25 mm broad, with an incision to two-fifths of their length, usually with rounded lobes, glabrous above, with a few hairs to pubescent below; peduncles axillary, not extending above the leaves, with forward-directed hairs; pedicels usually deflexed after fruiting.

Flowers 2-4 in an umbel, rarely solitary; sepals lanceolate, c. 4 mm long, with some hairs at the top to pubescent; petals yellow, c. 7 mm long.

Capsule cylindrical, 9-16 mm long, densely covered with short retrorse hairs.

image of FSA2_Oxalis_cor.jpg Oxalis corniculata habit, branch and leaf.
Image source: fig 387a in Jessop J.P. & Toelken H.R. (Ed.) 1986. Flora of South Australia (4th edn).

Distribution:  Grows in gardens and parks.

S.Aust.: NW, EP, SL, SE.   All mainland States.   Probably native to Europe but now cosmopolitan.

Conservation status: naturalised

Flowering time: Sept. — April.

SA Distribution Map based
on current data relating to
specimens held in the
State Herbarium of South Australia

Biology: Often mowed plants, for example those from lawns, may be somewhat different in habit.

Taxonomic notes: There is one specimen from the SE with stems partially with spreading hairs and partially with appressed antrorse hairs.

Author: Not yet available

Disclaimer Copyright Disclaimer Copyright Email Contact:
State Herbarium of South Australia
Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Department for Environment and Water