Electronic Flora of South Australia
Electronic Flora of South Australia
Census of SA Plants, Algae & Fungi
Identification tools

Electronic Flora of South Australia species Fact Sheet

Amyema miraculosum

Citation: Tieghem, Bull. Soc. Bot. Fr. 42:84 (1895) subsp. boormanii (Blakely)Barlow, Aust. J. Bot. 14:477 (1966).

Synonymy: Loranthus miraculosus Miq. in Lehm., Pl. Preiss. 1:281 (1845), partly; L. pendulus Sieber ex Sprengel var. parviflorus Benth., Fl. Aust. 3:394 (1867), partly. L. bifurcalus Benth. var. queenslandicus Domin, Biblthca Bot. 89:608 (1921); L. miraculosus Miq. vars boormanii and pubiger Blakely, Proc. Linn. Soc. N.S.W. 48:136, 138 (1923); A. miraculosum (Miq.)Tieghem (var. boormanii (Blakely)H. Eichler, Suppl. 102 (1965); synonyms of the subspecies.

Common name: Fleshy mistletoe.

Glabrous except for the calyx sometimes sparsely tomentose; epicortical runners absent; leaf lamina lanceolate to narrow-oblong, 40-100 X 5-25 mm, gradually attenuate at the base into an obscure petiole 2-10 mm long, acute to rounded at the apex.

Inflorescence peduncle 6-30 mm long; rays 2 or 3, 3-10 mm long; pedicels of the lateral flowers 1-10 mm long; bracts 0.7-1.5 mm long; calyx limb truncate, c. 0.5 mm long; corolla in the mature buds 15-25 mm long, clavate, longitudinally ridged or winged, 4- or 5-merous, dark-red; anther 1-2 mm long, one-quarter to half the length of the free part of the filament.

Fruit narrow-ellipsoid, c. 10 mm long.

Published illustration: Cunningham et al. (1982) Plants of western New South Wales, p. 221.

Distribution:  Parasitic on many hosts but especially Santalum, Myoporaceae, Loranthaceae and Casuarinaceae.

  W.Aust.; N.T.; QId; N.S.W.; Vic.

Conservation status: native

Flowering time: mainly Jan. — April, but also at other times.

SA Distribution Map based
on current data relating to
specimens held in the
State Herbarium of South Australia

Biology: No text

Author: Not yet available

Disclaimer Copyright Disclaimer Copyright Email Contact:
State Herbarium of South Australia
Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Government of South Australia Department for Environment and Water